forums.ps2dev.org Forum Index forums.ps2dev.org
Homebrew PS2, PSP & PS3 Development Discussions
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Open Keyboard Project
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.ps2dev.org Forum Index -> PSP Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jean



Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 489

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

(((again apologizing for my departure from psp scene...)))

You can use the connector from your remote, but i don't suggest using with attached remote...i mean: you have to tear apart remote and use only the connector making remote unusable... some user reports correct behaviour of both devices linked together, but i seriously doubt it is safe for all involved devices.
Have fun with your chatpad!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HellReborn



Joined: 01 Nov 2008
Posts: 12
Location: in a tree

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright thanks you all have been a big help =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pegasus2000



Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jean, I have some difficulties... Can you contact me through my mail...
I need to speak with you...

Filippo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Art



Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 647

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you been tempted to play with the PS3 keyboard?
It looks a lot sexier, but I didn't get to see the shape of it's underside.
_________________
If not actually, then potentially.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jean



Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 489

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@pegasus: i'm not so famous that i need to date someone to speak with: just write me your problem here, by PM or in my mail...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HellReborn



Joined: 01 Nov 2008
Posts: 12
Location: in a tree

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe your problem might be some other persons problem so please post it here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Glax



Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 4:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi everybody

i'm new on this forum, because i need some help with this project

firs: thanks a lot at jean for this cool stuff :)

second: i get a chatpad yesterday.

now i got a problem:

i'm planning everything i have to do before starting modding this keyboard

for the PICprogrammer it's all ok

for the interface pin placement i have some questions:


1) some posts back Airoch posted his solderpoints configuration
the problem is in the img called "chatpad with psp rs232"

Do i have to sold the green cable to the SIO connector( immediatly after the cablecovering) ? i think it's only in the photo that seems it.....

2) can someone give me a specific map about where to sold the cables on the SIO connector?( if possible even on the other side of those cables, on the board)

thanks to everbody and excuse me for my bad english :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jean



Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 489

PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

follow the drawings and wxplanations in the "official package" downloadable here:
http://www.psp-ita.com/?module=fileview&file_id=1579
...you don't need no more
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Glax



Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's the point: int his photo
Arioch_76 wrote:

Chatpad with PSP RS232



you can see the green cable solded to the tx and then to the v+ points

but int he img contained in the package it says to solder the tx point to the board's rx, not to the v+....

am i wrong? ( very very possble, but i don't know where...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jean



Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 489

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The image above seems to be correct (i say "seem" because i can't see solderings on SIO connector very well). In that image green is Tx, white = Rx, red = v+ and black = gnd.
But _PLEASE_ refer ONLY to the photos in my package!!! I receive around ten messages a week asking to assist one step by step for chatpad hack. Needless to say that i cannot follow everyone, there is nothing i can say that's not covered in instructions included in the package or here. So _PLEASE_ use it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Glax



Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh, ok i finally got it

i thought i had to solder the tx to the rx point ON THE BOARD, but the rx was on the sio connector...

ok now it's all ok


thanks and exuse me for any problems :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wolfman



Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 5:09 pm    Post subject: issues Reply with quote

alright, im having problems. i built the programmer using the pieces my local electronics place gave me. PICPgm sees the programmer but cant see the PIC with autodetect. I set it manually and was able to read the firmware, but not write. Ive tried resoldering the programmer together 3 times, ive checked my connections, ive cut the ground, ive tried everything. I just need it programmed. If anyone could be of ANY help id be greatly appreciative. Ive followed the instructions to the best of my abilities with no luck. Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
jean



Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 489

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

remember that due to the intrisic simplicity of the programmer i used, it may require a "REAL old fashioned serial port", where by "real" i mean "not a USB-to-rs232 converter like those used on today's laptops"... just try to find a friend's desktop workstation with built-in serial port and do the programming stuff on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wolfman



Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:50 pm    Post subject: laptop Reply with quote

well if thats a reply to me, i dont own a laptop :P ive only used desktops my whole life. Im using windows xp media center edition 2005 and a real serial port. The motherboard is a Foxconn 661FX7MF-S if that helps any. It just doesnt seem to like my programmer apparently or something...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Glax



Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well...it's midnight?

about 2 hours ago i finally flashed my pic firmware....
i'll try to help you

first, i used a different programmer, and for the moment ( i only have to solder the Sio connector and check if i have to cry or not) it works.
thanks to airoch76 that gave me this link:
http://www.jdm.homepage.dk/easypic.htm

make it and then plug the db9 to the pc
it's really easy, one resistor and if you use a simply breadboard( i think it's called like that, or something like "ciruits tester"...es this:http://www.ladyada.net/images/parts/breadboard-half.jpg) you don't have to do solderings, and even to buy the base for the PIC.

when you've made it, connect the db9 to the pc and connect the 4,5v to the breadboard.

first, if you done everything well, the picpgm will say you " jdm programmer found ( autodetect)" on the bottom of the window

then i got a little problem: i clicked on "check PIC" but the check went alaways wrong, then i not intentionally pressed "program PIC" ( i don't know what it flashed, because i didn't load any .hex file....) and the program flashed successfully the PIC

then i loaded the correct .hex file, corrected the 2007 string and flashed

everything seems to be alright
excuse me for this looong post, but i had many problems doing this cool project, and i think that many peolple probably need some help

of you have any other questions, i'm here :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
myspacee



Joined: 16 Jan 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for request,
but i just arrive form mp3car forum where a guy search to made same thing on PC
http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/input-devices/108554-xbox360-chatpad-awsome-backlit-mini-keyboard-new-post.html

He want to do same thing without mod chatpad; and without proper
windows/linux driver, i think he can't reach any usable result.

Maybe already ask, but is possible to replicate jean miracle also on a PC ?
(chatpad <-> PC)

If not, can you explain why ?

Thank you for your time,

m.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jean



Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 489

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As i already said somewhere, you can spend additional 5$ to buy a MAX232 and connect the chatpad to PC through serial port (i've seen a driver to support a 2nd serial keyboard somewhere). A firmware mod to make it work over ps2 port is also possible, but i was never interested in doing so due to lack in time and in public interest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
harrz84



Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi finally I bought a rs232 programmer so I flashed the firmware on the little chatpad, then I've tested with the sio tester app and when I push a button there is output on display.

I've installed the pikey plugin and reboot the psp, insert the chatpad and go to browser, i tired to type something, but there is mistake with the character / button pressed

for ex, i press X and type W, if I press another time X maybe write G and so on...after few types chatpad stop working...I have to disconnect reconnect to make another test

I have psp 1000 with 5.0 m33 fw, no 1.50 subset

pls someone help, I think I've make no mistake, I have re check cable, chatpad and plugin...if someone have an idea pls help tnx a l0t!

harrz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
jean



Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 489

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if i already said this (i think yes) but i know that there is little documentation about my work, so i'll repeat: The malfunctioning you describe could be the effect of wrong communication mode. Since the openkeyboard was born as a proof of concept (and people showed great interest in it but it had little spread because it's a difficult and expensive hack) there is no official communication protocol, so the device can be put in one of two communication modes: "plain serial and "advanced scan"...you can swap between one and the other pressing [people]+A or [people]+S. If changing mode doesn't work, check baudrates that have to be the same on the device and on the pikey plugin: if i correctly remember once i defaulted to 4800 while newer releases had a 9600 setting.

Speaking of releases, in a few week i should come out with a new one: due to personal quarrels i don't want my name or nickname to be coupled with psp-ita anymore and i asked them to remove all my works and not to publish forthcoming ones. So please, if you find files of mine on it, don't download and write me a note. Thanks to all people interested in this hobby of mine, i received many nice mails about people experimenting and i really appreciate it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
harrz84



Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi tnx for the reply, I have check and re-check plugin, firmware of the chatpad and physical connection, I also tried to push as you say people +a and people + s, and make test, but in both type the write mismatched with buttons I pushed...you said to check also the baud rate of serial connection, but how? in the sio test application, I set different baud, from basic 9600 to higher, but continue not working, there is a way to change baud rate in the plugin? not in the sio test application
tnx for any help

I missed to write that in the xmb if I push H the help message pop up, the correct button that work for me are:
H, backspace, enter and X (as the triangle)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
jean



Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 489

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh... try lower baudrate to 4800 and enter [people][s] mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
harrz84



Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tnx for reply, and how to change baudrate? in sio test application if I play with d pad minimum baud is 9600,

in xmb I don't know how to change baud
if you can explain me how to, you make me very happy :)


OK OK ok, I change baud rate in sio test application and work very very well

ok and in the xmb how to change baudrate??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
jean



Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 489

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

...sorry, but since this never got but little beyond a proof of concept i never made this configurable....you should change baudrate in sources and recompile...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
harrz84



Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but if i can change the baud in sio test app, and make it work, so I think the problem is in the firmware of psp...i think... I have fw 5.00 m33-6 without 1.50 subset, I have noticed that pikey and this project is made to work with fw 3.XX, so if I change fw to 3.XX maybe the chatpad work, maybe from 3 to 5 fw version changed setting for serial of remote or something like that...
I saw videos on the net that people made work this project very easier..like plug n play lol, and they have psp 1000 (fat) as me.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
HellReborn



Joined: 01 Nov 2008
Posts: 12
Location: in a tree

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i also have 5.00m33-6 on my psp and so this means i have to downgrade if i want to use the keyboard which i have not soldered yet T_T
_________________
R.I.P. Sparky - June 14 2000 - March 12 2006
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jean



Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 489

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

...i don't think, but i have to do some testing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
harrz84



Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, now I have put fw 4.01. on my psp 1000, I tried the sio test app, set baud to 4800 and everything work, in the xmb or psp browser the chatpad don't work...before with fw 5.0 m33-6 in xmb / browser chatpad mismatch keys...now don't work at all...

I tried to reflash the chatpad firmware with baud 4800 setted in windows com port setting, but nothing changed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
TokyoDriftPSP



Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2009 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey
I just bought a chatpad and opened it
on the chip is written

Microsoft
X814364-001
0837547

I'm in germany
I bought a JDM Programmer, too, it will arrive on monday
so does anyone know anything about this?
TD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jean



Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 489

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2009 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Microsoft
X814364-001
0837547

Uh-oh!....i fear they substituted programmable chips with production ROM counterparts...in such a case one should replace the chip in order to flash his own custom firmware into the chatpad... can you please put your chatpad's printed circuit board in a scanner, take a shot and show us?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TokyoDriftPSP



Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

in a normal scanner made for scanning documents? oO okay but I doubt this will help^^
well for me the circuit stuff looks the same as on your pictures
TD

okay, scanning was pretty unsuccesfull^^
you can't see anything^^
I'm glad to own a pretty good camera, so I took 2 pictures of the board:

http://img3.imagebanana.com/img/oani313h/DSC01704.JPG

http://img3.imagebanana.com/img/xst86sc1/DSC01708.JPG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.ps2dev.org Forum Index -> PSP Development All times are GMT + 10 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 7 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group